Volunteer Spotlight: Lydia Conroy

Lydia and Amy

Lydia and Amy

It’s time for another volunteer spotlight. Meet Lydia Conroy. She has been volunteering with danceability for the past three years on Thursday evenings. She enjoys dancing with her partner, Amy Zelasko. We asked Lydia about her danceability experience and here’s what she had to say:

Why did you decide to volunteer?
I found out about danceability through a family friend that works fro People Inc. She shared a post recruiting volunteers on Facebook. I originally became interested in volunteering because I took dance for 15+ years at Kay Duffy School of Dance in Springville, and it is something I have grown to miss as an adult. I also grew up as the only child of two teachers, who felt very strongly about community service so it seemed like a great fit. 

What is your favorite part of class?
I actually have two favorite parts…I love the time before class starts because the girls always come in and high five me or give me a huge and tell me fun things about how their week is going. I also love when we have learned a new part of our routine and Miss Robin asks if we are ready to run it from the top because Amy is always the first shout, “YES!”. She’s extremely enthusiastic about learning new things. 

What would you tell potential volunteers about joining danceability?
I think people are always afraid that you need dance experience to volunteer. You definitely don’t! All you need is a good attitude, a big heart and a desire to learn. The teachers at danceability can teach you everything you need to know, and they are all excellent at explaining things in a fun and simple way. 

What is your favorite dancebility memory to date?

Lydia with the class she volunteers in!

Lydia with the class she volunteers in!

In just the short time I’ve been volunteering, I have dozens to choose from. My absolute favorite would be a few weeks ago at the Bandits game. They do a little bit during one of the timeouts where they play, “Everybody Dance Now” and show people in the crowd dancing on the Jumbotron. A few people in, the camera zoomed in on Amy dancing her heart out wearing her danceability shirt of all things! She was doing such a good job that they showed her twice. She represented herself and danceability in such an awesome way. I am super proud of her!

Danceability is celebrating its 10th Anniversary this year – what is your wish for danceability for the next ten years?
My wish is for all of Buffalo to know about danceability. I have brought new people to each of our Annual Performances and they are always blown away at what an incredible performance it is. I encourage anyone who is looking for a new experience or something to get involved with, to volunteer. It really is the best part of my week, and something I look forward to doing for many years to come. 


Thank you to Lydia and our over 90 volunteers who cheer on our dancers each week in the studio. We can’t do it without you and we can’t wait to see you all perform at our 10th Annual Performances in May.

 

 

Leave a Reply

