Volunteer Spotlight: Nicole Killion

It’s time for another volunteer spotlight! This month, we interviewed Nicole Killion, who is back for her 5th year of volunteering at danceability. Nicole always walks in the studio with a huge smile on her face and carries that into the classes she volunteers in. She’s worked primarily with dancers Sydney and Eric during her time at the studio and has formed a great bond with them both. In addition to volunteering, Nicole is always supportive of our danceability fundraiser efforts too! Read more about why Nicole got involved at danceability!


Nicole with dancer Sydney

Nicole with dancer Sydney

Why did you decide to volunteer?

I decided to volunteer because I saw danceability featured on the news and I knew it was something I would love to get involved with. I was a dancer since I was five, so this was a way to share my love of dance with others. 

What is your favorite part of class?

My favorite part of class is when we learn a new combination or dance. I love watching the dancers concentrate on learning new steps and then seeing the smile on their faces when they have accomplished it. 

What would you tell potential volunteers about joining danceability?

I’d definitely tell potential volunteers to join danceability. It is so rewarding to go to dance each and every week. The dancers love to see you each week, dance with you, and you will leave every dance class with a smile on your face.

Image-1

Nicole performing in the 2016 Annual Performances

What is your favorite danceability memory to date?

I have many favorite memories at danceability. One of my favorites would have to be during my first year of volunteering. At the end of our recital dance, my dancer Sydney turned to me and gave me a huge hug and shouted, “We did it!” Yes, Sydney, we did! That moment proved to me why I love to volunteer at danceability. The students have pure joy and a sense of accomplishment when they get on that stage in May and show everyone how much they have grown and what they learned throughout the year!

Danceability is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year – what is your wish for danceability for the next ten years?

My wish is to have danceability continue to grow and serve more dancers. I have seen tremendous growth in the past five years, so I have no doubt that will continue for the next ten!

 


A big thank you to Nicole for her continued support of our program, and to all the volunteers who make danceability a part of their weekly routine. If you are interested in getting involved at danceability, reach out to us at danceabilitywny@gmail.com or call the studio at 716-651-0094.

 

Leave a Reply

