Volunteer Spotlight: KasieLynn Schultz

We say it every year, but danceability would be nothing without our volunteers. They are the heart of the organization and have really made our program so much more than we could have ever imagined. Today, we highlight one volunteer, KasieLynn Schultz, who has been volunteering in the classroom since our first day! Over the past nine years, KasieLynn has been such a positive force for our dancers and has been through it all with us. Learn more about how KasieLynn got involved, and why she keeps coming back each year to support danceability!


20130511_134908-10011Why did you decide to volunteer at danceability?

I previously volunteered with Miss Christine and Miss Robin where I received college credit in one of my human services classes. Miss Robin came to me over the summer in 2007 and told me about their exciting news of starting their own dance studio and asked if I would join them by volunteering at their new studio! I was so excited for them and couldn’t wait to start volunteering at the dance studio!

Do you have a favorite dance routine you performed over the past 9 years?

There have been so many dance routines over the past 9 years I don’t think I could pick just one! Each dance routine holds a special place in my heart and I remember each of them! From the genre of dance to the choice of music, the new steps and combinations, the costumes, the dancers, the teacher and fellow volunteers each dance routine is unique all of its own.  I’m always so excited to see each of my dance routine’s finished product at the annual dance performances!

What has been the most rewarding part of volunteering?

The most rewarding part of volunteering with danceability for me has been being able to be a part of a great organization that brings families and the community together, allowing the students to express themselves through dance and to see the joy it brings to their lives as well as my own.

Do you have a “success” story of a dancer you have worked with for years, or from the beginning who has really excelled at danceability? Or even just the experience of 20140510_185106-1001watching the dancers grow up.

I have been fortunate enough to be able to dance with so many different dancers over the past 9 years at danceability.  Being able to see each of them grow up and achieve so much in their personal lives as well as their dance career brings so much joy to my life and I’m so proud of them, they have shown me what life is truly about! I love to see the smile on their face when they learn or master a new step or combination and how proud they are of themselves, it’s magical.

What would you say to potential volunteers?

I would tell potential volunteers to join danceability as it’s a life changing experience, you get back so much more then you give.  Everyone has so much fun and there’s so much joy surrounding you, a smile dances across everyone’s face! You have to experience it for yourself!

How has danceability changed and evolved over the years from your point of view?

Danceability has evolved into a great organization from a dream to reality, that I’m very proud to be a part of.  Danceability continues to grow every year, from the very beginning of 1 dance studio and 2 teachers to 2 dance studios and 9 teachers. The number of students and volunteers have more than doubled over the years. Danceability strives to be a loving and caring environment for all of their students, volunteers and their families! I can’t say it enough they are truly a wonderful organization!

20150509_124825001What do you hope the next ten years of danceability brings?

I hope the next 10 years of danceability brings continued success, Dance, joy, happiness, and love to all of its great dancers, teachers, volunteers, families, board members and the community as it already has for the past 9 years! I’m excited to see what the future holds for danceability!


Thank you, Kasie for being such an incredible volunteer. We celebrate you this year as much as we celebrate our 10th anniversary. Without our volunteers, we would not have been able to provide great classes for our dancers.

If you are interested in becoming a volunteer in the classroom, or helping out at our fundraisers or in the office, please contact us at danceabilitywny@gmail.com or by phone at 716-651-0094!

Leave a Reply

