Meet our 2015-2016 danceability Instructors

As we get ready to kick off our 2015-2016 dance year, we wanted to showcase our teaching staff. They all come from different backgrounds but have the common love of dance that shines through whenever you are around them. We were sad to say goodbye to two teachers this past year, Miss Colleen and Miss Amanda, but are thrilled to welcome FOUR new teachers to our danceability family.

So, without further ado…here’s our 2015-2016 teaching staff…

——

Miss Christine D. 

Miss Christine D. and baby Jack working hard in the danceability office

Miss Christine D. and baby Jack working hard in the danceability office

“This summer was a life changing summer. My husband Sean and I  welcomed our first child into the world. Three weeks early, Jack Rylan surprised us on June 30th weighing in at 7 pounds 1 ounce. A little sleep deprived and learning as we go, Sean and I are enjoying every new day with Jack already getting him out to see all that Buffalo offers including Delaware Park and Canalside! Another one of Jack’s adventures will be visiting everyone at the studio! He is looking forward to it!

I look forward to starting the new season with my Monday night dancers! I can’t wait to teach some of the new dance moves and combinations that Jack and I have choreographed in our living room! He loves them and hopefully my dancers and volunteers will too! I also look forward to seeing our new instructors discover the joy of teaching our dancers and hearing all that they learn from them too!”

Miss Robin B.

Miss Robin and her family at Disney World

Miss Robin and her family at Disney World

“Summer 2015 was a busy one for me. I had a great time getting to know the new teachers better and showing them the tricks of the trade! It was great to watch them start the process of evolving from volunteers (which they all were) to teachers. I also enjoyed all the new dancers that tried out our program this summer. Doing things a little differently, each teacher rotates the classes that they taught so that they would meet more students and more students would meet them. It was a great learning experience for all.

Summer was capped off by a family trip to Disney World and a three day Disney Cruise (my favorite place on earth, and where a lot of my inspiration for dances come from). I can’t wait to see my veteran dancers again and meet a flock of new ones this September!”

Miss Lisa B.

Miss Lisa with her daughter over the summer

Miss Lisa with her daughter over the summer

“I’m most looking forward to seeing all of my dancers again!  I have missed them all so much over the summer.  I did get to see some of them at summer classes, which was great, but I can’t wait to see them all.  I’m also looking forward to implementing some of the new activities and combinations I’ve been cooking up over the summer! 

This summer I’ve been taking my daughter and dogs to the park a lot.  My daughter loves to swing and my dogs love to run off leash!  I also recently got back from NYC where I got to go to Coney Island for the first time!”

 

Miss Elissa W.

Miss Elissa (right) at a community event with other danceability teachers!

Miss Elissa (right) at a community event with other danceability teachers!

“I’m really looking forward to the diversity in the classes I’m teaching this year. I have our very young dancers all the way up to our oldest (but young at heart) dancer. It’s going to be great to work with so many different age groups.

This summer I went camping over Labor Day weekend, and managed to not get eaten by a bear! I am a Service Coordinator with Community Services for the Developmentally Disabled, so that kept me busy as well.” 

 

Miss Christine A. 

Miss Christine A. and her fiance!

Miss Christine A. and her fiance!

“My first year teaching with danceability was such a wonderful experience, and I learned so much from all of the staff, dancers, and families. I am so happy to be returning for my 2nd year. I have my dance playlists ready to go, and I can’t wait to start the year with new dance combinations and warm-up routines.

This summer I continued working full-time as a physical therapist, I taught some of the fitness frenzy classes, and for some exciting news: in August I got engaged to my college sweetheart! We are planning for a 2017 wedding in Buffalo or Rochester.”

 

 

NEW this year – Miss Michelle P.

Miss Michelle is new to the teaching staff, but not new to danceability! She has been a volunteer since 2009.

Miss Michelle is new to the teaching staff, but not new to danceability! She has been a volunteer since 2009.

“I had a great summer!  I spent a lot of time with my family’s for friends and went on a fun camping trip in Almond, New York!  I also had a wonderful time teaching dance classes at Danceability this summer! I can’t wait to see all of my students in the fall!

I have been a volunteer at danceability since 2009 and was the substitute dance instructor for the 2014-2015 dance season. I have loved dancing for as long as I can remember. I began taking dance classes when I was 5 and learned numerous dance styles including ballet, tap, jazz, pointe, and hip-hop! I still take dance classes now!

I have my Bachelor’s Degree in Elementary and Special Education and I’m attending Buffalo State to earn my Master’s Degree.  I currently am a substitute teacher for the Ken-Ton School District and the secretary for the Tourette Association of America- Greater New York State Chapter.  With the Tourette Association, I help organize various events for people with Tourette Syndrome and their families.  

I am very excited to share my love of dance with all of my students!”

 

NEW this year – Miss Kylie B.

kylie

Kylie this summer in Long Beach, CA. She was there supporting the Special Olympics World Games.

“I am new to the teaching staff, but not to danceability. I volunteered for the past few years. I am currently finishing up my undergraduate degree at the University at Buffalo and plan to pursue a Masters in Public Health.

I’ve danced since I was three and competed at a national level with Dance Spectrum in Depew. I can be seen in the 80th Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade opening number and have had the privilege of working with choreographers like Suzi Taylor, Dana Wilson, and Buffalo’s own Jon Lehrer. In 2011, I taught dance at Little’s Dance Studio in Erie, PA along with dancing for the Gannon University’s Dance Team. 

I am most excited to see the progression of each student! I love working towards goals with dancers and watching their progress during the year. The dancers inspire me so much and remind me that hard work over time pays off! “

 

NEW this year – Miss Megan R.
“At the age of 6 I started tap dancing at a local dance studio. From there I was also fortunate enough

image1

This summer, Miss Megan completed her first half marathon with her brother!

to train in ballet, jazz, hip-hop and contemporary. Loving dance from the first time I stepped into the studio I joined my dance studio competition team and competed in both tap and jazz. I went on to graduate from the University at Buffalo with my BFA in Dance and a minor in Education.

While at the University at Buffalo I had the opportunity to be a part of a program that brought dance into Buffalo Public schools as an after school program. I was also fortunate enough to choreograph for many faculty produced performances as well as perform for Zodiaque Dance Ensemble. I am currently working at a local school servicing students with developmental disabilities. In the future I hope to get my masters in Dance Therapy. 

This year at danceability I am most excited to learn from my students! I am also excited to watch them progress and grow!”

 

NEW this year – Miss Kayleigh T.
Miss Kayleigh and her husband at a wedding this summer!

Miss Kayleigh and her husband at a wedding this summer!

I have been a volunteer with danceability for 4 years. I began dancing at age 3, taking ballet, tap, jazz, lyrical and pointe classes for 15 years. I was also a member of my studio’s dance competition team for 6 years.

I graduated from St. John Fisher College with a bachelor’s degree in communications and currently work as an Account Executive in Resource Development at United Way of Buffalo & Erie County. I have also been a Big Sister with Big Brothers Big Sisters of Erie County for 5 years and mentor high school students through Leadership Buffalo’s Youth Leadership Program. I also enjoy sitting on the Board of Directors of Homespace and the Young Non-Profit Professionals Network of Greater Buffalo. 
I am very excited about the 2015-2016 dance year! One of the classes I will be teaching I volunteered with for the past 4 years and am looking forward to seeing their continued growth! I am also looking forward to getting to know my new dancers and learning from them as much as I hope they learn from me.
My husband and I had a busy summer of traveling for weddings and wedding activities!  We visited New Jersey, North Carolina, Las Vegas, Rochester and Maryland.. all within 5 weeks!”
 —–
Classes kick off next week and our teachers can’t wait to meet all their students. Registration is still open if you know someone interested, and we are also looking for additional volunteers. If interested, contact us at danceabilitywny@gmail.com or by calling the studio at 716-651-0094.
Leave a Reply

