Volunteer Spotlight: Lauren Loffredo

lauren 1

Lauren (right) with dancer Erica

We can’t do what we do without our volunteers. They are the true heart of our organization and they do amazing things with our dancers. We will be featuring one volunteer each month on our blog so you can get an inside look at what inspired them to join the danceability team and why they keep coming back!

Check out our first volunteer spotlight of the year: Lauren Loffredo
She has been a volunteer for a few years now and loves working with Nicole & Erica!

Why did you decide to volunteer at danceability?
A friend of mine was a volunteer at danceability and invited me to the recital.  She knew that I had grown up dancing myself and thought that I would really enjoy getting to see all of the dancers.  Every second of the show was filled with an overwhelming feeling of happiness and joy.  There were huge smiles, lots of playfulness, and even some awesome attitude from the dancers.  It was evident that the dancers loved what they were doing and that the volunteers loved being a part of it.  As soon as the show was over, I ran out to the lobby and signed myself up! 

What is your favorite part of class?
My favorite part of class is when the dancers first arrive and settle in.  I love to see everyone back again after the week, excited to be reunited and ready to dance.  I am always looking forward to what we have ahead for that class time and am excited to start.  I love that each week at danceability is an opportunity for progress, for limitations to be overcome, and for laughs and smiles to be shared.  

What is your favorite activity or song in class?
My favorite activity is when we dance freestyle using props.  Pompoms, flashlights, or instruments, the dancers always have a blast with them.   The props seem to make freestyle even more liberating and give the dancers an opportunity to just dance freely, be silly, and have fun.  I love all the creative moves they come up with! 

lauren 2

Lauren (right) with dancer Nicole

What would you tell potential volunteers about joining the danceability team?
I would tell potential volunteers that danceability truly is just that, a team.  The danceability community is made up of such genuine, kind, and caring people.  You get to make fantastic connections and bonds with your dancers, but also with all of your fellow volunteers and teacher as well.  Everyone is so welcoming and is always there to offer their help, whether you are unsure of what to do or just a little bit nervous at first.  Joining this team has been one of the best things I have ever done!

What is your favorite danceability memory?
There are so many!  The first thing that comes to mind are memories of helping my dancers overcome challenging dance moves.  Sometimes its difficult hand movements, or quick moves on our feet. Helping them each week and finally reaching that goal is an incredible feeling.  There was a particular move I had been working on with one of my dancers for quite some time, and after many weeks, she came in and just rocked it.  I was so incredibly proud of her and so overjoyed.  It was amazing to feel that I was a part of that and that I helped bring out the great big smile that followed.

Danceability has touched my life in so many ways.  It brings me so much happiness and lots of silly laughs. It also gives me perspective and encourages me to make the most of every day.  It has been both humbling and extraordinarily uplifting.  The dancers at danceability are incredibly inspiring, and always bring the biggest smile to my face.  

Danceability is truly close to my heart and such a wonderful organization to be a part of.

——-

We are still looking for volunteers for the upcoming dance year. Volunteers are needed Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:30 – 8:00pm. We ask for one hour commitment, weekly – no dance experience is required! If you are interested, please e-mail us at danceabilitywny@gmail.com.

One thought on “Volunteer Spotlight: Lauren Loffredo

Leave a Reply

