Volunteer Spotlight: Amanda Lux

Amanda (left) poses with her dancers during Halloween!

Amanda (left) poses with her dancers during Halloween!

We are back with another Volunteer Spotlight, featuring volunteer Amanda Lux.

Amanda has been a classroom volunteer for a few years and is always eager to jump in and help out with fundraisers.

Miss Lisa said, “Amanda is so helpful in class facilitating movement and keeping the dancers engaged throughout class.” Miss Robin added, “Amanda is always willing to help out with any part of our program.

We asked Amanda about her danceability experience. Here is what she had to say…

Why did you decide to volunteer at Danceability?

For as long as I can remember I’ve really enjoyed working with the special needs community. I volunteered for the Special Olympics while I was in college at Niagara University. I also worked at Autistic Services in their afterschool program. My teammate on the Buffalo Jills first told me about danceability.  Since then, dancing and working with individuals with special needs at danceability has been the perfect fit!

What is your favorite part of class?

My favorite part of class is when students achieve something such as a dance move or a stretch that they were struggling with.  It makes me feel so good to see them accomplish their goals. Knowing that I played a role in encouraging them to reach their goals is an incredible feeling.

What is your favorite activity or song in class?

My favorite activity in class is when we do a free style dance. This is when the students’ creativity comes out. They love to show us their dance moves and they have a great time free styling! Also, I really enjoy when we start learning the routine for the annual recital. Everyone’s’ face lights up when they hear the song that was chosen for the recital. It’s just like Christmas morning!

What would you tell potential volunteers about joining the danceability team? 

Amanda with one of her dance partners before the 2014 Annual Performances

Amanda with one of her dance partners before the 2014 Annual Performances

I would suggest observing a class first.  It is a time commitment and the students depend on their volunteers being there for each session. With that being said, joining danceability was one the best decisions I have ever made. Each week I look forward to seeing my dancer and sharing a class full of laughs and fun times. Also, I love working with other volunteers who have the same passions that I do!

Danceability has been a life changing experience for me. It makes me appreciate the small things. The students inspire me as much as I hope to inspire them. Watching them grow and learn new things is a very rewarding and emotional experience. Every year I have to hold back tears at the recital. Seeing the joy in their families’ faces is priceless. Making a difference in the students’ and their families’ lives is what keeps me coming back year after year.

——-

We can’t do it without volunteers like Amanda who help in our classrooms every week. Thank you to Amanda, and all our volunteers who make a difference for our dancers every week.

Leave a Reply

